Fantasy Sports, It’s A Commitment

16 08 2010

(-The Fantasy Guys…DB)

I only anticipate several things in life more than fantasy football and baseball; food, real live football and real live baseball, that’s it. There really isn’t much in this world better than winning a fantasy league because of the amount of blood, sweat, tears, loss of hair, hours lost go into making a winning team. This blog was sparked by my idea to spread knowledge about the game we love sometimes more than the real sport itself. It’s our dream come true, we are the managers, we are the GM’s, we make all the moves, no one can tell us NO, or hold out. This is our world.

I know I am not alone when I say that playing fantasy sports has led to some commitment issues. No, not in your personal life (although if true I suggest you see someone about that) but in the world of fantasy sports. I found myself so attached to certain players or an entire team that it literally makes me furious when they do something wrong or someone talks bad about them. It’s like someone is talking down upon your own children! For example, last year Ray Rice was my prized possession, I drafted him in the 7th round as one of my backup running backs behind Deangelo Williams. After his break out year I kind of adopted Rice as my guy, he flourished under my ownership thus he is mine.

I have tons of other fantasy stories but I am all about the future, the 2010-2011 year of fantasy sports and leaving all the rest behind. A funny story about my diligent colleague Frank Qasim and our fantasy  baseball season last year. FQ earned the name of Judas after our 2009 FBL draft on March 26th 2009. A couple of days prior to the draft Frank and I were sharing some insights about who to draft. We got to the topic of late sleepers and decided to make a pact, I’ll give you my sleeper pick if you give me yours as long as you promise not to draft him. We both agreed, I told him about this up and coming catcher in the San Francisco Giants organization named Pablo Sandoval, while he told me about a short stop from the Bronx playing for the Kansas City Royals, Mike Aviles. Come draft night as the 9th round rolls around Frankie Q is without a catcher so he does the unthinkable and drafts Pablo Sandoval while laughing in the Yahoo! chat box. I was stunned, I literally didn’t talk for over 20 minutes because I couldn’t believe what he had done. Sandoval A.K.A “Kung-Fu Panda” went on to have a MONSTER season, 25 homers, 90 RBI’s and a .330 batting average. I was angry for a long time…but I let bygones be bygones and he now joins me in this endeavor.

My partner in crime Frankie Q and I are very experienced in the word of Fantasy sports and we will be making sure you get the best information we can give you to win your leagues.  So from one fantasy geek to another welcome, enjoy, tell your friends and thank you for stopping by.

– David “The Mouth” Berov

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

